Campus and Basin

Meet our Applied Human Nutrition faculty members

 

SMP_9113a

Dr. Daphne Lordly, DEd, Professor, Department Chair
daphne.lordly@msvu.ca
Research interests: Dietetic education and the socialization of dietetic students and practitioners, and how gender is implicated in these processes; arts-informed research and pedagogy Read more »




P Williams

Dr. Patricia Williams, PhD, Professor
patty.williams@msvu.ca

Research interests: Participatory research processes into social and policy change necessary to build food security. Read more »

 

bohdanDr. Bohdan Luhovyy, PhD, Associate Professor
bohdan.luhovyy@msvu.ca

Research interests: Functional foods and food-derived bioactivities; mechanisms of adaptive responses to chronic dietary exposures, the role of food-born substances in physiologic and metabolic regulations. Read more »

 

Linda MannLinda Mann, MBA, PDt, Associate Professor
linda.mann@msvu.ca

Research interests: Impacts of parenting styles on healthy eating and physical activity behaviours of young adults, evaluation of food and nutrition standards (particularly for child care centres), and innovative and entrepreneurial aspects of nutrition and dietetic practice Read more »


 

Jennifer Brady

Dr. Jennifer Brady,RD, MHSc, PhD, Assistant Professor
jennifer.brady@msvu.ca

Research Interests: My broad interdisciplinary background informs my research interests which span critical, feminist perspectives of food, nutrition, eating, bodies, and expertise. Read more

 

Dr. Grant

Dr. Shannan Grant, PDt, MSc, PhD, Assistant Professor
shannan.grant2@msvu.ca
Research interests: As a Scientist and Registered Dietitian (RD), a focus of my research program is the use of clinical trials to answer community-based questions. I am interested in assessment of nutrition education/ intervention from both the perspective of the patient/ client and the health care professional. Read more »

 

 

Whitfield, Kyly

Dr. Kyly Whitfield, PhD, Assistant Professor
kyly.whitfield@msvu.ca
Research interests: Dr. Whitfield is passionate about international nutrition, with interests in identifying and combating micronutrient deficiencies during ‘the first thousand days’ window, from conception through 2 years. Read More

 

 

Phillip JoyDr. Phillip Joy, PhD, Assistant Professor
phillip.joy@msvu.ca

Research interests:  I am a registered dietitian with the Nova Scotia Dietetic Association (NSDA). My research interests are driven from my own experiences as part of the LGBTQQIP2SAA community. A community that is often silenced through heteronormative social and cultural discourses. Read More

 

Judy Fraser-ArsenaultJudy Fraser Arsenault, MAHE, PDt, Internship Coordinator and Lab Instructor
judy.fraser.arsenault@msvu.ca
Administration of the Internship Education Program. Read more »

 

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Matt McSweeney. PhD, Adjunct Professor
Matthew.mcsweeney@acadiau.ca

Matt joined the Acadia University faculty in 2013 after completing both his BSc and PhD in Food Science at the University of Guelph.  Matt primarily studies sensory science. . Read More

 

 

Dr. (Cath)erine Morley, PhD, RD, FDC, Adjunct Professor
cmorley@acadiau.ca

Research interests: Dr. Morley’s research interests rest in critical dietetics including critical feminist social perspectives and the study of power integrated into all aspects of dietetics education, practice, and research. read more »

 

 

Dr. Priya Kathirvel, PhD, Adjunct Professor
priya.kathirvel@msvu.ca

Dr. Kathirvel has a background in food science and her primary research interests have been in the areas of food chemistry & analysis and functional food product development. Her earlier research focused on the extraction, isolation and characterization of polyphenolic compounds from fruits and studying their antioxidative potential and mechanisms of inhibition of lipid oxidation in various food systems. Read more

 

Dr. Lucy Aphramor, PhD, Adjunct Professor

Lucy.Aphramor@msvu.ca

Lucy Aphramor’s primary practice and research interests centre on developing and sharing liberatory approaches to public health nutrition work.  Read more