MODL Awards 2022 – Congratulations to all!

Sister Rose Celestine Prize: Hayley Bone

Prix de l’Alliance française : Cath Fitzgerald

Prix de l’Ambassadeur de Suisse : Jenna Morrissey

Danny Weston Memorial Prize: Alyssa Evans & Emily Maddigan

Language Lab Prize: Zhipeng Song

MODL French Prize: Maria Al Achkar, Kevin Hudon, Sydney McAllister, Martine Spearns

Practical French Prize: Caitlin Fidler, Reilly Johnston, Cassidy Norse, Noah Savary, Yen Tran

Prix Fenêtre sur la francophonie : Nya Urciuoli

MODL Spanish Prize: Zhipeng Song

Spanish Embassy Prize: Luka Stutz

Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival 2021

On September 21, we celebrated the traditional Mid-Autumn Festival. A beautiful event!

Dr. Janet Fu (MODL Department) and Mahx Mason (International Office) welcomed everyone and Dr. Fu explained the origins of the celebration.

Students, Faculty and Staff enjoyed activities and mooncakes together.

A colourful celebration!

Student Highlights:

Prix de l’Alliance française 2022

Félicitations à Catherine Fitzgerald, récipiendaire du Prix de l’Alliance française 2022 pour l’université Mount Saint Vincent!

Catherine Fitzgerald (au centre) avec les récipiendaires du prix de l’Alliance française 2022 des autres universités de la région atlantique.

Catherine Fitzgerald (au centre) avec Dr. Juliette Valcke (à sa droite) et Dr. Alexandra Tsedryk (à sa gauche)

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 MODL Awards Recipients!

Because of the campus closure, the Department held a virtual Student Awards ceremony on April 14. It was a very warm celebration despite the circumstances.

– Sister Rose Celestine Prize for French: Julia Dick

– The Alliance Française Prize: Nya Urciuoli

– Swiss Ambassador’s Prize in French: Lianna Dykeman

– The Danny Weston Memorial Prize in French: Julia Hines

– The Floyd Campbell Memorial Scholarship in French (recommendation): Faye Evans

– MODL Department Prize: Emily Maddigan, Natalie Freeman, Jean-Marc Samson, Jenna Morrissey

– MODL Practical French Prize: Jillian Mozvik; MODL Language Lab Prize: Prabhleen Singh.

– Spanish Embassy Prize: Ana Lucas

– Modern Languages Spanish Prize: Nya Urciuoli.

Congrats to all!

Faculty Highlights:

  • Dr. Juliette Valcke describes tackling the question of medieval influences on francophone Canadian literature through our Modern Language department. You can read the full story here.
  • Dr. François-Xavier Eygun, along with Arnaud Decroix, reviewed the nineteenth century gold rush as a inspiration for adventure novels on CBC. You can listen to the entire segment here.
  • Dr. Larry Steele hosts a radio show called “Trois Beaux Canards”, featuring Francophone music, on CKDU 88.1 FM, every Thursday from 7 to 8 pm. Listen online live or in archives at: Facebook site: Trois Beaux Canards
  • Prof. Olivia Montalvo March talks about Distance Courses in Spanish.


Past Highlights:

Une très belle sortie au cimetière Fairview avec le Club français!

Cath Fitzgerald nous a raconté le Titanic…

Une magnifique soirée en français dans le cadre du FrancoFest 2019!

Comité exécutif du Club français 2019-2020

2019-2020 MODL Awards


Book Launch

Congratulations to Dr. Alexandra Tsedryk and Dr. Christine Doe (Faculty of Education) for the launch of their collective book The Description, Measurement and Pedagogy of Words!

Book Launch December 4 2019 good size

Dr. Christine Doe and Dr. Alexandra Tsedryk

Dec. 4, 2019

Chinese Mid Autumn Celebration 2019

Students, Faculty and Staff gathered on September 19 to celebrate Mid Autumn. They enjoyed traditional mooncakes, fruits and Chinese tea, and participated in a paper folding workshop under the supervision of Dr. Ping Lu, our Mandarin Professor. All had a great time sharing and learning!

Mid autumn 1 new size


Mandarin class new size

Dr. Ping Lu with her Mandarin class students.

mid autumn 3 new size
Paper folding workshop


MODL Awards night 2017 – Congrats to our students!

2017 Modern Languages Awards Night Collage


Congratulations to our graduates – Majors of French, Spring Convocation 2016:

Amy M. Chisholm, Kristen Renée D’Entremont, Brittany Kendell, Amanda C. Lajo, Lydia D. Lawless, Vanessa M. MacDonald, Peter Nicks, Alex W. Sweeney

Modern Languages 2016 Convocation graduates

Congratulations to all students of French, Spanish and Mandarin of 2015-2016 Award Ceremony!

Congratulaitons to our best students of French, Spanish and Mandarin of 2014-2015 academic year!