Mount Saint Vincent University

 

Mount Saint Vincent University Faculty

Meet our participating faculty members

Faculty members who participate in our Women & Gender Studies graduate program come from a range of departments and disciplines.

 

Adriana Benzaquén Adriana Benzaquén, History
adriana.benzaquen@msvu.ca

Research interests: early modern European History, history of childhood and children, history of women and gender, history of science, sexuality and the body
Read more »
SBrigham2 Susan Brigham, Education
susan.brigham@msvu.ca

Research interests: Lifelong Learning; international/intercultural education; critical feminist pedagogy; teacher education; women migrants: immigrant teachers in Canada, domestic workers, “Mail-Order Brides”; school – work transitions; Africentricity in Education.
Read more »

Jennifer Brady Dr. Jennifer Brady, Applied Human Nutrition
jennifer.brady@msvu.ca

Research Interests: My broad interdisciplinary background informs my research interests which span critical, feminist perspectives of food, nutrition, eating, bodies, and expertise. Read more

Mary Delaney Mary Delaney, Women’s Studies
mary.delaney@msvu.ca

Research interests: Body image; coercion in dating and risk-taking; methodological and statistical approaches to studying change over time; identifying qualitative differences in interpersonal relationships.
Read more »

gabie2013 Gabrielle Durepos, Management
gabrielle.durepos@msvu.ca

Research interests: Organizational history, critical historiography, the history of management thought, methodology and, gender and diversity.
Read more »

Maya Eichler Maya Eichler, Political Studies
maya.eichler@msvu.ca

Research interests: Feminist international relations theory, gender and the armed forces, the privatization of military security, and veterans and military families.
Read more »

 

Dr. Tammy Findlay Tammy Findlay, Political and Canadian Studies
tammy.findlay@msvu.ca

Research interests: Canadian politics, gender and politics, gender and public policy, social policy, community engagement, multilevel governance, and representation.
Read more »

TFO fish room3 Tamara A. Franz-Odendaal, Biology
tamara.franz-odendaal@msvu.ca

Research interests: Gender Stereotypes within Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) fields, history of women in STEM, youth perceptions of stereotypes, women in STEM in the workplace.
Read more »

FlagSmall Marnina Gonick, Education, Women’s Studies
marnina.gonick@msvu.ca

Research interests: Girl studies, identity, visual culture, feminist cultural studies, gender and schooling, feminist pedagogies, feminist post-structural theory, feminist qualitative research.
Read more »

Dr. Reina Green Reina Green, English
reina.green@msvu.ca

Research interests: Contemporary film adaptations of Shakespeare’s plays; open air productions of Shakespeare, including the work of actor/director Ben Greet; and gendered constructions of space, particularly domestic space or “home,” in contemporary Canadian drama by women.
Read more »

FlagSmall Karen MacFarlane, English
karen.macfarlane@msvu.ca

Research interests: The Gothic, particularly monsters and the monstrous body in contemporary culture and late nineteenth century fiction; Theory, especially feminist and queer theories; Imperialism in fin-de-siecle popular fiction; postmodernism; Canadian women’s literature.
Read more »

Dr. KelleyAnne Malinen, Sociology and Anthropology

Research interests:  Gender, Sexuality, and Racialization, sexual and intimate partner violence that transgresses gender norms, intersectionality and institutionalized privilege and oppressions articulate with sexual consent and sexual violence. Read more

TMoniz Tracy Moniz, Communication Studies
tracy.moniz@msvu.ca

Research interests: Gender and media, media history, writing practice and pedagogy, and narrative medicine.
Read more »

Deborah Norris Deborah Norris, Family Studies and Gerontology
deborah.norris@msvu.ca

Research interests: Military families, critical theories, family relations and social support, qualitative research, health and social service needs of persons with intellectual/developmental disabilities, family violence.
Read more »

DeNel photo DeNel Rehberg Sedo, Communication Studies
denel.rehbergsedo@msvu.ca

Research interests: The production, distribution and reception of cultural media artifacts or products—online and in print, including: books, television, newspapers and film.
Read more »

Meredith Ralston Meredith Ralston, Political & Canadian Studies, Women’s Studies
meredith.ralston@msvu.ca

Research interests: Prostitution and sex tourism in the Philippines and Canada, feminist epistemology, women in politics, women’s rights as human rights.
Read more »

 

FlagSmall Ian Reilly, Communication Studies
ian.reilly@msvu.ca
Reddington Pic Sarah Reddington, Child & Youth Study
sarah.reddington@msvu.ca

Research Interests: inclusive education, capacity approaches to learning, children and youth’s rights and advocacy, differentiated curriculum, visual and arts-based methods, Universal Design for Learning, and critical approaches to child and youth study
Read more >>
Anna Smol Anna Smol, English
anna.smol@msvu.ca

Research interests: Tolkien, Medievalism, Old English Literature, and Pedagogy.
Read more »

Randi Warne Randi Warne, Cultural Studies
randi.warne@msvu.ca

Research interests: politics, religion and culture; North American cultural history, including social reform movements; material and popular culture.
Read more »

walls Martha Walls, History
martha.walls@msvu.ca

Research interests: Atlantic Canadian First Nations history, with a specialization in the historical experiences of 20th century First Nations women.
Read more »

FlagSmall Rhoda Zuk, English
rhoda.zuk@msvu.ca

Research interests: Feminist theory, cultural studies, women’s literary tradition, children’s literature, popular culture, contemporary feminist literature.
Read more »





 

Faculty from Saint Mary's University

Meet Women & Gender Studies faculty members at SMU »

 

Rohini Bannerjee (Modern Languages and Classics)
rohini.bannerjee@smu.ca

Francophone Literatures and Cultures of the Indian Ocean

 

Michele Byers (Sociology & Criminology)
michele.byers@smu.ca

Gender, sexuality, critical theory and cultural studies, feminist theory, girl studies, media and communication studies, television studies, YA fiction, Canadian studies, celebrity, collective biography, identity and representation, intersectionality, ethnicity and Jewish studies

 

Benita Bunjun
Benita.Bunjun@smu.ca

Research area: colonial gendered encounters, academic well-being of racialized students, mental health and labour, (im)migrant/indentured labour, and intersectionality.

Teaching area: Qualitative Research Methods; Archival Research; Critical Race Studies; Social Power Relations; Canadian Society; Social Control and Regulation; Migration Labour, Transnational Community Organizing.

 

Diane Crocker (Sociology & Criminology)
diane.crocker@smu.ca

Violence against women, restorative justice, research methods, prisons

 

Shelagh Crooks (Philosophy)
shelagh.crooks@smu.ca

 

Alexandra Dobrowolsky (Political Science)
adobrowolsky@smu.ca

Citizenship; representation; social movements; identity politics; constitutional politics and constitutional mobilization; states, and parties and policy (e.g., social policy, immigration policy); Canada and the United Kingdom.
http://www.smu.ca/academic/arts/pscience/windows/dobrowolsky.html

 

Patricia Fitzgerald (Management)
p.fitzgerald@smu.ca

 

Kirrily Freeman (History)
kirrily.freeman@smu.ca

Twentieth Century Europe; Vichy France; Nazi Germany; The Holocaust; The First World War; The Second World War; War and Memory

 

Stella Gaon (Political Science)
stella.gaon@smu.ca

Continental philosophy; Deconstruction; Feminist theory; Frankfurt School; French feminism; Jacques Derrida; Marxism; Political theory; Poststructuralism; Psychoanalytic theory
http://smu-ca.academia.edu/StellaGaon

Maria Gomez
Maria.Gomez@smu.ca

Teresa Heffernan (English)
teresa.heffernan@smu.ca

Feminist literary theory, women writers, Lady Mary Montagu, cyborgs, robots, posthumanism
http://smu-facweb.smu.ca/~theffern/welcome.html and http://culturesindialogue.com/main/home

 
Gugu Hlongwane

Gugu.Hlongwane@smu.ca

 
Renee Hulan (English)
renee.hulan@smu.ca

 

Val Marie Johnson (Sociology & Criminology)
vjohnson@smu.ca

Theories and histories of gender and sexuality, intersection with race & colonialism, class & economic resources, citizenship, urban social relations & space, criminalization and law, social & institutional harm (by states, corporations, and institutions), formal politics, liberalism & neoliberalism, youth
http://www.smu.ca/academic/arts/sociology/windows/Johnson.html

 

Edna Keeble (Political Science)
edna.keeble@smu.ca

Security: national security, feminist definitions of security, and human security

 

Seán Kennedy (English)
sean.kennedy@smu.ca

 

Martha MacDonald (Economics)
martha.macdonald@smu.ca

Feminist economics, household livelihood strategies, gendered labour markets, long term care, rural restructuring, income security policies

 

Audrey MacNevin (Sociology & Criminology)
audrey.macnevin@smu.ca

 

Nicole Neatby (History)
nicole.neatby@smu.ca

Canadian Women’s History, women’s higher education, student protest movements, and public history (commemoration, memory, invention of tradition)

 

Najma Sharif (Economics)
najma.sharif@smu.ca

 

Goran Stanivukovic (English)
goran.stanivukovic@smu.ca

Queer early modern studies, queer temporalities, queer theory, literary and cultural constructions of masculinity, history

 

Tim Stretton

Tim.Stretton@smu.ca

 

Xiaoping Sun (History)
xiaoping.sun@smu.ca

Chinese women’s history, the power dynamics between the state and society, migration and identity in Communist Northeast China, food and environmental changes in Northeast China

 

Tatjana Takseva (English)
tatjana.takseva@smu.ca

Motherhood Studies; Feminism and Motherhood; Motherhood–History; Renaissance Women/Mothers; Motherhood/Feminism/The Balkans; Women/Mothers and consumerism; Women/Mothers and globalization; Women/Mothers and teaching/pedagogy; Women and Wartime/Rape

 

Evangelia (Evie) Tastsoglou (Sociology & Criminology)
evie.tastsoglou@smu.ca

International migration and immigration; immigrant integration and citizenship, globalization and development; diasporas and identities; crisis and migration in European societies; transnational care; immigration, settlement and diversity policies; second generation Canadian youth.

 

Jennifer VanderBurgh (English)
jennifer.vanderburgh@smu.ca

 

Madine VanderPlaat (Sociology & Criminology)
madine.vanderplaat@smu.ca

Women, children and families; marginalized populations; immigration; health equity; feminist research practices

Lyndan Warner
Lyndan.Warner@smu.ca

 

Augie Westhaver
Augie.Westhaver@smu.ca