The following Prizes and Awards of Merit are avaialble for Biology students:

Dr. Kellie Davis Scholarship:

Established by Mount alumna Kellie Davis, (BSc ’04), MD, FRCPC, a medical geneticist, in appreciation and recognition of her educational experience and faculty mentors at the Mount (Dr. Amalie Frohlich, Sister Sheilagh Martin, Dr. Ron MacKay, Dr. Nick Hill, Prof. Earl Martin, Dr. Susan Boyd, Dr. Tina Harriott). This scholarship is awarded annually to a third or fourth year student pursuing a Bachelor of Science degree at Mount Saint Vincent University. First preference will be to a student who has an interest in genetics. Second preference to a student with an interest in medical science.

Dr. Lillian Wainwright Biology Prize (MSVAA):

Awarded by the Mount Saint Vincent Alumnae Association, in memory of Dr. Lillian Wainwright, former faculty member of the Department of Biology. On the recommendation of the biology faculty, this award will be given to a third year (or having completed 10.0 units) biology major with a GPA of at least 3.5.

Sister Lua Gavin Endowed Scholarship:

Awarded annually upon the recommendation of the Biology Department to a Biology major entering the second year (or having completed 5.0 units). The recipient should have a high academic average and have given evidence of vision, curiosity, original thinking and active extracurricular involvement.

Outstanding Biology Student Award:

Awarded to a biology major of any year who has demonstrated a true love of biology and is expected to have a successful career in their field.

Greg Coakley Lab Award:

In honour of Greg Coakley, who served as the Biology Lab technician for 48 years, this award is given to the biology major having completed at least 10.0 units who shows the most enthusiasm and proficiency in laboratory work.

Sisters of Charity Award in Biology:

The Sisters of Charity Award in Biology is given to a Biology major who earned the highest grade in Introductory Biology and who has achieved the highest academic standing by mid-point of the second year of the program.

Department of Biology Award for Best Student:

Each year the Biology Department chooses a course and identifies the best student in the class.


Committee Membership:

The following department members serve on the Scholarships and Awards Committee Committee: