Over the course of 2023, we’ll feature stories about people, programs and projects from past to present. Check back often to meet more amazing MSVU people!

Have a great story idea or MSVU memory to share? Let us know by emailing news@msvu.ca.

Sister Catherine Wallace – MSVU President from 1965 to 1974

The late Alexa McDonough – Honorary degree recipient and interim president

The late Terrence (Terry) Paris – Librarian Emeritus

Deanne MacLeod – Alum and former Chair of the Board of Governors

Sister Dorothy Moore – Former Board member and continued friend and advisor to MSVU

The Honourable Rita Joe – Honourary degree recipient and featured on the Inspiring Women installation at MSVU

Dr. Marial Mosher – Professor, donor and dancer

Nancy Ruth – Feminist activist and donor who enabled the creation of the Nancy’s Chair in Women’s Studies at MSVU

Kay Balite – Alumni and invaluable support for international students

Cheyenne Hardy – Current student and volunteer extraordinaire

Phoebe Smith – Long-time staff member who is the heart and soul of her departments

The late Daurene Lewis, CM – Honorary degree recipient, former ED of the CWB, and trailblazer

Dr. Dorothy Wills – Alum, honorary degree recipient, and passionate educator

The late Dr. E. Margaret Fulton, OC – MSVU President Emerita and exceptional feminist leader

Ayo Aladejebi – MSVU graduate and valedictorian, and community leader

John R. Sylliboy – Alum, Member of the L’nu Advisory Circle, and first to hold the dedicated Senate seat for an Indigenous representative at MSVU

Dale Godsoe – Educator and community leader with more than one special connection to MSVU

Joanne Bernard – MSVU alum, President of the Alumni Association, member of the Board of Governors and community leader

The Late Sister Mary Lua Gavin – Founder of MSVU’s Biology Department 

Dr. Alleyne Murphy – First lay professor at the Mount and past chair of the Home Economics/Human Ecology (now Applied Human Nutrition) department

Sister Cecilia Margaret Young – Alum (BMus ‘44), professor, and talented musician

Dr. Mairi St. John Macdonald – Former Director of Continuing Education at MSVU and honorary degree recipient

The late Janet Marie Drapeau (nee Higgins) – MSV Academy Alumna of 1957

Suzanne (Sue) Drapeau – Alum, former Vice-Chair, MSVU Board of Governors, former MSV Alumni Association Chair, community leader

June Lumsden – Dedicated Athletics Director and unwavering champion for students

Megan Pegg, Felt artist and MountAbility graduate

Rosemarie Sampson – Mount alum, psychology professor, former administrator and donor

Karen Hudson – Mount alum and leader in Africentric education

F. Marie Jones – Alum and life-long MSVU volunteer

Dr. Susie Brigham – Professor, mentor, leader and equity advocate

Rob Batherson – MSVU alum and champion, former Board of Governors member, public affairs pro

Ramona Lumpkin – MSVU Past President and Vice-Chancellor, now President Emerita

John Carnaghan – A beloved MSVU fitness centre member and biggest champion of student athletes

Rosa Parks – An iconic figure of the civil rights movement and MSVU honorary degree recipient

Dr. Janice Keefe – Teacher, researcher, student mentor, and leading expert on aging

Christine Qin Yang – MSVU alum and 2023 International Alumni of Impact award winner

Janet (Pottie) Murray – BA (Honors) in Philosophy and Class Valedictorian (’56), former Board of Governors member and Chair

Suellen Murray – BPR ’86, former co-editor of The Picaro

Isabel Jean Hyland – MSVC graduate, Class Valedictorian

Ada McNeill Wallace – First President of the Mount Saint Vincent Alumnae Association

Patricia Monaghan – BCS ’89, early childhood development interventionist

Brian Murray – BA ’89, Communications Director, Video Producer

Molly Murray – BSc ’22, science communications advocate

Corey Beals – Deputy Fire Chief and long-time firefighter, lifelong learner

Hillary Clinton, a political trailblazer with a lasting MSVU connection

Kamla Williams – MSVU Alumna, social worker and equity advocate

Anne S. Derrick – Former MSVU student council president, BA (Hons), honorary degree recipient, now justice with the NS Court of Appeal

Simon Kennedy – MSVU Alumnus and Deputy Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Bita Batenian – MSVU international student and life-long learner

Dave Gallant – Sports photographer extraordinaire

Ksenia Kholina – MSVU alum, part-time professor, dietician, and proud feminist