The L’nu Advisory Circle at MVSU provides important guidance on initiatives in support of Indigenous learners and communities, including Truth and Reconciliation efforts. The Circle is made up of Indigenous community leaders and university representatives (see membership list below).

From 2014 to early 2020, this work was led by the Internal Aboriginal Advisory Committee (IAAC) and the External Aboriginal Advisory Committee (EAAC) at MSVU. On January 6, 2020, the IAAC and the EAAC were combined into one committee, an idea brought forward by members of the IAAC. Through consultation with members of the EAAC at their December 2019 meeting, the committee merger was unanimously approved, and a new name put forward: L’nu Advisory Circle. The Mi’kmaw word L’nu means The People.

L’nu Advisory Circle members:

  • Pam Glode-Desrochers – Executive Director, Mi’kmaw Native Friendship Centre
  • Darren Googoo – Director of Education, Membertou First Nation
  • Sheila Isaac – Director, Mi’kmaq & Indigenous Post-Secondary Recruitment & Retention, Labour and Advanced Education, Nova Scotia Provincial Government
  • Dr. Don Julien – Executive Director of The Confederacy of Mainland Mi’kmaq
  • April Hiltz – Education Director, Native Council of Nova Scotia
  • Catherine Martin – Director of Indigenous Community Education, Dalhousie University
  • Holly Meuse – Coordinator of Mi’kmaw Services/Education, Annapolis Valley Regional Centre for Education
  • Ann Sylliboy – Post Secondary Consultant, Mi’kmaw Kina’matnewey
  • John R Sylliboy, Executive Director, Wabanaki Two-Spirited Society
  • Spencer Wilmot – Former Director of Education with the Native Council of Nova Scotia (Retired)
  • Gillian Batten – Director, Communications, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Delvina Bernard – Mount Saint Vincent University Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Accessibility Advisor
  • Kelly Gallant – Associate Vice President University Relations, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Dr. Joël Dickinson – President and Vice-Chancellor, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Alyssa McIntyre – Indigenous Student Advisor, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Dr. Jonathan Medrano – Assistant Professor, Child & Youth Study, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Dr. Bernadette Russo – Assistant Professor, Department of English, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Patrick Small Legs-Nagge – Special Advisor to Mount Saint Vincent University on Indigenous Affairs
  • Jesse Sutherland – President, Mount Saint Vincent University Student Union
  • Dr. Brook Taylor – Interim Vice President and Provost, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Dr. Shane Theunissen – Assistant Professor, Child & Youth Study, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Dr. Martha Walls – Associate Professor, History, Mount Saint Vincent University