On Wednesday, June 28, 2023, Mount Saint Vincent University celebrated a new group of honourees who had recently been installed on the Riva Spatz Women’s Wall of Honour.

The only one of its kind in Canada, the Riva Spatz Women’s Wall of Honour (WWOH) at MSVU is a celebration of extraordinary women from all walks of life. The name of each honouree is engraved on a leaf on the wall as a lasting tribute to inspiring women who have made a difference across family, community, and profession. Today, the wall bears the names of almost 600 women.

The whole installation is named in honour of lead donor Jim Spatz’s late mother, Riva. As a young woman, Riva survived the Holocaust when she and her younger sister and brother were sent by their parents to join a partisan group and become resistance fighters against the Nazis.

Among this year’s honourees were several women leaders in politics; a number of community leaders; MSVU faculty, staff and alumni; and former First Lady Michelle Obama, who will be the feature speaker at an event coming this fall that MSVU is proud to be supporting in partnership with the Nova Scotia Co-operative Council, East Coast Credit Unions and other Atlantic organizations.

As part of this unique tribute, honourees are also highlighted on the virtual Women’s Wall of Honour, a platform which provides an opportunity to share the stories of the women honoured and for people from all over the world to join in the experience.

Each of the women celebrated on the WWOH is given a leaf pin to wear. Through the leaf pin, the wall and its importance can be carried with honourees. The pin unites a community of cherished women.

The WWOH is located just outside the Margaret Norrie McCain Centre for Teaching, Learning and Research at MSVU which, fittingly, is the only building on a Canadian university campus dedicated to celebrating the accomplishments of women.

2023 Riva Spatz Women’s Wall of Honour Honourees:

The Honourable Barbara Adams

The Honourable Patricia Arab

The Honourable Jill Balser

Danielle Barkhouse

Hermine (Minnie) Bernard (honoured in memoriam)

Jully Black

Kim Campbell

Claudia Chender

Kendra Coombes

The Honourable Susan Corkum-Greek

Lady Ann Day

Dr. Joël Dickinson

Rafah DiCostanzo

The Honourable Becky Druhan

Dr. Jacqueline Gahagan

Suzy Hansen

Cheyenne Hardy

Penelope Joy Henneberry pointing to her left on the Women's Wall of honourPenelope Joy Henneberry

The Honourable Marci Ien

Lisa Lachance

Susan Leblanc

Patricia MacLellan Maccagno

Alison MacDonald

Donna Christene MacDonald

Valerie MacDonald

The Honourable Karla MacFarlane

Lynne MacQuarrie

The Honourable Kim Masland

Jeanette McPherson

Houda Frances Metlege

Lena Metlege Diab standing beside her leaf at the Women's Wall of HonourThe Honourable Lena Metlege Diab

Lorelei Nicoll

Michelle Obama

Karen Oldfield

Doreen Phinney-Furlong

Dr. Sarah Reddington

The Honourable Kelly Regan

Jane Adams Ritcey

Melissa Sheehy-Richard

Elizabeth Smith-McCrossin

Dr. Anna Smol

Honourable Michelle Thompson