Each spring, MSVU recognizes stand-out students from across academic and athletics programs.

This year’s student award winners are an exceptional reminder that talent abounds at MSVU. They represent students who have demonstrated academic excellence and students who are at the top of their game.

In short, they are an inspiration to their university community and a source of Mystic pride! We extend our heartiest congratulations to them all.

(Keep scrolling for more information about both our academic and athletics student award winners.)

Academic award winners

Science departments at MSVU held an event to present their student academic awards this year, while departments in Arts and Professional Studies prepared a video celebrating their latest student academic award winners. Watch the Arts and Professional Studies video here »

The following is a list of all 2022 academic award winners:

Alleyne Murphy Award  
Megan Churchill

Applied Human Nutrition Community Service Award
Rebecca Lynn Hatcher
Jill Patterson

Frances Malloy Award   
Erin West

Bob Bagg Award       
Kathleen Williams

Business and Tourism Award
Jennifer Kurmey

International Student of the Year    
Ji In Yoo

Department of Child & Youth Study Award for Academic Excellence    
Heather Perry

Lindsey Cousineau Award    
Emily Hammond

Dr. Patrick O’Neill Award in Public Speaking         
Grace Boucher

David Bell Memorial Endowed Award        
Emily Thompson

Mount Co-op Students of the Year  
Kathrine McEwen (Business Administration)
Megan Savary (Public Relations)
Ella Burns (Tourism & Hospitality Management)

Sister Marie Agnes Book Prize In English     
Julia Hines

English Department Literary Prize
Mackenzie Moore
Sophia Godsoe

Beryl Rowland Book Prize in English
Michael Gillis

McGrath Baird Prize 
Chelsey Rachelle Joudrie

Sister Francis D’Assisi Prize in History (Alumni-sponsored)
Helena Brigham Gale

Sister Francis deSales Award
Lucinda Higgins

Library Research Award      
Sarah van de Walker

Sister Rose Celestine Award for French  
Hayley Bone

Sister Frances Carmel Regan Award in Philosophy 
Renaj’ Forbes

Andrea and Charles Bronfman Award in Canadian Studies
Natalie Locke

Dr. Larry Fisk Book Prize     
Amanda Hendrie

Marial Mosher Award in Canadian Studies 
Natalie Locke

Pauline Jones Award
Madyn Bourque

Certificate for Outstanding Performance in WS 1110     
Meghan Richard

Chemistry Society of Canada Silver Medal
Bret Baxter

Dr. Frank Bennett Mathematics Research Prize
Emily Smith

Sara Elizabeth Philips Memorial Prize in Mathematics
Shun Usuki

Doug and Joy Harriott Award in Physics
Emily Smith

Athletics award winners

Each spring, the Best of the Blue Varsity Awards are given out at MSVU in celebration of the successes of our student athletes. This year’s awards recognized exceptional student athletes across our soccer, volleyball, basketball and cross-country teams.

In addition to sport-specific and other named awards, “Athlete of the Year” awards were bestowed this year on: Kelsey Crocker (Women’s Basketball) and Joel McCrossin (Men’s Basketball).

2022 Athlete of the year awards: Kelsey Crocker and Joel McCrossin

The following is a list of all 2022 athletics award winners:


Most Improved
Teaghan Wallace

Coach’s Award
Hannah Baillie

Most Valuable Player
Mitchell Firth


Most Improved
Esja Marr

Coach’s Award
Mariah Wright

Most Valuable Player
Annika Monroe


Most Improved
Michael Grechuk

Coach’s Award
Nick Bryden, Connor Grant

Most Valuable Player
Luc Andriopoulos


Most Improved
Madyson Parlee, Marcy MacNeil

Coach’s Award
Nicole Rector

Most Valuable Player
Elisabeth Héroux-Rhymes


Most Improved
Katherine Khorovets

Coach’s Award
Piper Tracy-Stewart

Most Valuable Player
Kelsey Crocker, Tahlia Jones

Dyrick McDermott Memorial Award
Alisha McNeil


Most Improved
Will Spaulding

Coach’s Award
Tariq Thomas

Most Valuable Player
Jaxon Smith, Joel McCrossin

Raymond and Helen Plato Memorial Award
Jaxon Smith

Rick and Andrea Plato Award
Ty Murnaghan


MSVU Varsity Alumni Prize
Mariah Wright, Women’s Soccer
Tariq Thomas, Men’s Basketball

Margaret Ellis Award
D’Vaughn Rolle-Johnson

Sheila & Stephenie Allt Award
Kathrine McEwen, Women’s Soccer
Madeline Laurence, Women’s Soccer.

Tracy Barton Endowed Memorial Award
Adam Callaghan, Men’s Basketball
Seven McHatten, Women’s Volleyball

CCAA Academic All-Canadians
Mitchell Firth, Cross Country
Annika Monroe, Women’s Soccer
Nicole Rector, Women’s Volleyball
Elisabeth Héroux-Rhymes, Women’s Volleyball
Tahlia Jones, Women’s Basketball
Kelsey Crocker, Women’s Basketball
Alisha McNeil, Women’s Basketball

Windsor Flash Trophy
Ally Seamone, Women’s Soccer
Madeline Laurence, Women’s Soccer
Kathrine McEwen, Women’s Soccer