MSVU science departments hold an event each spring to celebrate their student academic award winners. These students have achieved excellence in their respective fields of study, and exemplify the talent, hard work, and dedication that define the MSVU community. We’re delighted to spotlight these deserving award winners. They’re an inspiration to their university community and a source of Mystic pride! We extend our heartiest congratulations to them all.


Biology Department Award for Best Student in Physiology of Plants
Jadyn Samson

Dr. Lillian Wainwright Biology Prize (MSVAA)
Maria Burns

Greg Coakley Laboratory Award
Amélie Moulin

Outstanding Biology Student Award
Julia Isabella Di Giosia

Sister Lua Gavin Endowed Scholarship
Gabrielle Fenwick

Sisters of Charity Award in Biology
Gabrielle Fenwick


Canadian Society for Chemistry Silver Medal
Nicole Cox

Sister Mary Evelyn Award
Ailish Dale Sullivan

Sister Patricia Mullins Award in Chemistry
Gabrielle Fenwick
Amélie Moulin

Susan Boyd Endowed Prize for Excellence in Chemistry
Nicole Cox
Ailish Dale Sullivan

Computer Science

Dr. Len Parent Computer Studies Award
Lukas Stutz

Mathematics and Statistics

Dr. Frank Bennett Mathematics Research Award
Joseph Barss
Shun Usuki

Sara Elizabeth Phillips Memorial Prize in Mathematics
Brianne Batherson

Dr. John Reid Statistics Award
Elizabeth Cuevas Cid


Doug and Joy Harriott Award in Physics
Renata Joy McKenna

Across all departments

Jeanne Sauvé Research Assistantship for Women in Science
Maria Burns (Biology)

Dr. Margaret-Ann Armour Award
Kathleen MacDonald (Biology)

Science Society Award
Florence Joseph (Biology)