(Halifax, NS) – Mount Saint Vincent University (the Mount) is pleased to announce Ms. Phyllis Yaffe and Dr. Samantha Nutt will be honorary degree recipients at its 2011 Spring Convocation ceremonies.

Established women leaders, Ms. Yaffe and Dr. Nutt have both contributed to the progress of the status of women throughout their careers and have made major contributions to Canada and the world.

“These honorary degree recipients have made immense contributions to our community and society. To have them join us in celebration of their accomplishments is a true privilege for the Mount,” says Dr. Ramona Lumpkin, President and Vice-Chancellor, the Mount. “Their work is an inspiration to graduates who will soon begin a new journey beyond the Mount community.”

Phyllis Yaffe has been a major player in Canadian cultural industries throughout her career. She has served as President and CEO of Showcase and Alliance Atlantis Communications, is the current Chair of the Board of Directors of Cineplex Entertainment and Lead Director on the Board of Torstar Corporation. Ms. Yaffe is known for her involvement as the Chair of Women Against Multiple Sclerosis and most recently as the Chair of the Board of Governors at Ryerson University. Ms. Yaffe will address graduates at the Convocation ceremony on Thursday, May 19 at 2:00 p.m.

Dr. Samantha Nutt, Founder and Executive Director of War Child Canada, is a physician with over a decade of experience working in war-torn regions. Her commitment to peace, human rights and social justice, along with her ambition to help women and children affected by war, has earned her numerous distinctions. She was recently named one of 25 Transformational Canadians by The Globe and Mail, and has been profiled as one of Canada’s Five Leading Activists by Time Magazine. Dr. Nutt will address graduates at the Convocation ceremony on Friday, May 20 at 10:00 a.m.

In addition, Catherine Woodman, President and CEO of the United Way of Halifax Region, and Chair of the Mount’s Board of Governors, will address the graduates during Convocation ceremonies on Thursday, May 19 at 10:00am.


For more information, contact:
Akiko Lovett
Public Affairs Office
Tel: (902) 457-6439
Cell: (902) 441-0505