Each spring, we take a moment to celebrate academic excellence across all Mount Saint Vincent University programs. Though we couldn’t get together to do that this year, we wanted to put a well-deserved spotlight on our 2020-2021 Academic Award Recipients.

“Though it’s been a year like no other in the history of the university, what did not change is the degree to which our students impress,” said Dr. Brook Taylor, Interim Vice-President Academic and Provost, MSVU. “I’m inspired by MSVU student achievements at the best of times, and even more so in the face of a global pandemic. Hats off to each and every one of our 2021 academic award winners. Well done!”

Frances Malloy Award in Applied Human Nutrition
Jillian Ruhl

Alleyne Murphy Award in Applied Human Nutrition
Chloe Pineau

Community Service Award in Applied Human Nutrition
Victoria Shupe
Gurneet Dhami
Bao Sang Lam

Robert (Bob) Bagg Endowed Award for Excellence in the Pursuit of Management Education
Bernard Beauvais

Business and Tourism International Student of the Year               
Iknoor Singh

Business and Tourism Leadership Award
Beth Connell
MacKenzie Parker

Chemistry Society of Canada (CSC) Silver Medal
Sarah Madore

Department of Child Youth Study Lindsey Cousineau Award
Erika Clarke

Department of Child & Youth Study Award for Academic Excellence      
Mandi Sperry

David Bell Memorial Endowed Award in Communication Studies
Kayla Partridge

Patrick O’Neill Award in Public Speaking              
Megan Savary

Mount Co-op Students of the Year
Sarah Brining (Business Administration)
Raf Mikhael Peligro (Public Relations)
Ji In Yoo (Tourism & Hospitality Management)

Academic Excellence Award in Economics
Benjamin Phillips
Kelly Maclean

Dr. R.P. Seth Book Prizes in Economics
Peter Courtney

Michael and Madeleine Merrigan Memorial Award in Education             
Paul Stemmler

Dr. Mary Schoenberger Education Prize
Sara MacIntyre

Brick Books Poetry Prize              
Olivia Landry

English Department Literary Prize
Sophia Godsoe
Olivia Landry

Beryl Rowland Book Prize in English      
Julia Hines

Sister Marie Agnes Prize in English
Kristen Carew

McGrath-Baird Prize in Gerontology
Amber Duynisveld

Sister Francis D’Assisi Prize in History    
Jennifer Kearley

Sister Frances de Sales Endowed Research Award           
Rachel Waugh

MSVU Library Research Award 
Lucinda Higgins

Dr. Frank Bennett Mathematics Research Prize
Fraser Smith
Nathan Hebert

Sara Elizabeth Phillips Memorial Prize in Mathematics  
Bailey Drew

Sister Rose Celestine Prize for French
Julia Dick

Doug and Joy Harriott Award in Physics
Ally Seamone

Dr. Larry Fisk Book Prize              
Benjamin Phillips

Pauline Jones Award in Psychology        
Noémie Bergeron-Germain

Certificate for Outstanding Performance in Women’s Studies 1110         
Erin Avery