Dr. Mary Lyon has been appointed Acting Vice-President Academic commencing September 1, 2009. Dr. Lyon brings close to thirty years of teaching and administrative experience to this position, having served as the Mount’s Dean of Professional Studies for the last eight years. In her capacity as Dean, she made significant contributions to the creation of Destination 2012 and the new Academic Plan.

“Dr. Lyon has a wealth of information and experience to bring to this role and I would like to thank her for agreeing to interrupt her long term plans to take on this significant opportunity” says Mount President Kathryn Laurin. “I’m confident that the Mount community will continue to support her efforts as we move ahead with implementing the Academic Plan.”

Dr. Katherine Darvesh has been appointed to Acting Associate Vice-President Academic effective September 1, 2009. Dr. Darvesh has been a faculty member at the Mount for 20 years and is currently the Chair of the Department of Chemistry. In 2008, she was recognized with the MSV Alumnae Award for Teaching Excellence.

Current Vice-President Academic at the Mount, Dr. Donna Woolcott, has accepted a new position in Toronto as Executive Director, Quality Assurance for the Council of Ontario Universities with responsibility for the newly formed Ontario Universities Council on Quality Assurance.

“Dr. Woolcott has extensive experience with Quality Assurance programs through her work with the Maritime Provinces Higher Education Council (MPHEC) and she will bring great strength and expertise to this role,” says President Laurin. “Apart from a new career challenge, this position offers the opportunity to work and live in Ontario where she has many friends and family.”


For more information contact:
Akiko Lovett
t. 457-6439
c. 441-0505