MSVU’s stand out varsity athletics programs are exceptional for many reasons, but in particular for the extraordinary athletes they attract. On March 30, 2023, MSVU athletes, coaches, staff and supporters gathered to celebrate their successful seasons at a year-end awards banquet. Dubbed the Best of the Blue Varsity Awards, the awards celebrated not only MSVU athlete accomplishments, but also commitment and development. In addition to sport-specific and other named awards, “Athlete of the Year” awards were bestowed this year on:

Women’s Athlete of the Year

Emily Holt, Women’s Basketball

Emily Holt

Men’s Athlete of the Year

Will Spaulding, Men’s Basketball

Will Spaulding

Windsor Flash Trophy

Presented to student-athletes with the highest GPA. All four of these recipients have a 4.3 GPA!

The Windsor Flash Trophy Award Winners: Jillian Smith - Cross Country, Annika Monroe - Women's Soccer, Madeline Laurence - Women's Soccer, and Campbell Colpitts - Men's Basketball
From left to right: Jillian Smith – Cross Country, Annika Monroe – Women’s Soccer, Madeline Laurence – Women’s Soccer, and Campbell Colpitts – Men’s Basketball


Cross Country Awards

Most Improved Player: Sophie LeBlanc

Coach’s Award: Jillian Smith

Most Valuable Player: Florence Cormier-Lebrun


Women’s Soccer Awards

Most Improved Player: Morgan Gillis

Coach’s Award: Beth Padfield

Most Valuable Player: Annika Monroe & Madison Lavers


Men’s Soccer Awards

Most Improved Player: Maxwell Hoar

Coach’s Award: Michael Grechuk & Connor Grant

Most Valuable Player: Waris Attiqullah & Nick Bryden


Women’s Volleyball Awards

Most Improved Player: Cela MacLellan

Coach’s Award: Maia Green & Madyson Parlee

Most Valuable Player: Marcy MacNeil


Women’s Basketball Awards

Most Improved Player: Courtney Smith & Amanda Pearcey

Coach’s Award: Ashleigh Marshall

Most Valuable Player: Alisha McNeil & Emily Holt


Men’s Basketball Awards

Most Improved Player: Tario Sands & Ty Murnaghan

Coach’s Award: Adam Callaghan & Jaxon Smith

Most Valuable Player: Will Spaulding


Sheila & Stephenie Allt Memorial Award

Amelia MacDougall, Cross Country

Sacha Clark, Women’s Soccer


Tracy Barton Endowed Memorial Award

Florence Cormier-Lebrun, Cross Country


Raymond & Helen Plato Memorial Award

Adam Callaghan, Men’s Basketball

Jaxon Smith, Men’s Basketball


Rick & Andrea Plato Award

Isaac Matheson, Men’s Basketball


Dyrick McDermott Memorial Award

Amanda Pearcey, Women’s Basketball


Alumni Varsity Award

Connor Grant, Men’s Soccer

Maia Green, Women’s Volleyball


CCAA Academic All Canadians

These student-athletes excelled this past year both on the court/field and in the classroom.

Marcy MacNeil, Women’s Volleyball

Emily Holt, Women’s Basketball

Alicia McNeil, Women’s Basketball

Annika Monroe, Women’s Soccer

Ashley Neves, Women’s Soccer

Sacha Clark, Women’s Soccer


2022-2023 Recreation Award:

Margaret Ellis Recreation Award: Julia Strickey

Departing MSVU senior athletes shared some thoughts about their journeys as student athletes in a special video.

Congratulations to this year’s award winners and all MSVU varsity athletes, coaches and staff on a great year!