Greenery and students cropped

NOTE: Banner images should be placed in this first content block and should be at least 720px wide.

Senate's Role in University Governance 

According to the University Charter, Mount Saint Vincent University is governed by a bi-cameral structure consisting of the Board of Governors and the Senate. The Board of Governors is charged with the fiduciary responsibility for governance, conduct, management and control of the University’s assets, and the Senate is the academic governing body of the Mount and is responsible for the academic policy of the University.  It determines, in its own Senate By-Laws, its composition, members' terms of office, and internal procedures.

Senate Responsibilities

The Senate is responsible for the academic policy of the University and has statutory authority to regulate academic programs; set courses of study and standards for admission and continued enrolment; establish procedures for the evaluation of student performance; approve recipients of certificates, diplomas and degrees (including Honorary degrees); provide for the convening and conduct of convocations; determine fellowships, scholarships, bursaries, medals, prizes and other awards; be responsible for library policy; determine the academic qualifications for appointment and promotion of faculty; determine (subject to ratification by the University's Board of Governors) the academic terms on which any faculty, school, institute, department, chair or course of instruction may be established or discontinued and on which any agreement for academic co-operation may be made with individuals or groups outside the University; regulate the conduct, activities and discipline of students, appoint committees (including executive) and delegate any powers it deems advisable, and exercise other functions, powers and duties conferred on it or assigned to it by the Board.

Senate Secretary

The Secretary of Senate is a non-voting member elected by Senate for a three-year term. The Secretary of Senate is normally the first person to contact with questions or issues about Senate or its work.  For additional information concerning The Senate of Mount Saint Vincent University, contact Senate Secretary Professor Paula Crouse (

The President of the University serves as the Chair of Senate, and while the Senate is composed of ex-officio members, student representatives, and faculty, including librarians and full-time laboratory instructors, the faculty group forms the majority of its membership. 

Ex Officio Members

President, Dr. Mary Bluechardt, Chair
Vice-President Academic and Provost, Dr. Elizabeth Church
Vice-President Administration,  Mr. Brian Jessop
Dean of Arts & Science, Dr. Brook Taylor
Dean of Professional Studies, Dr. Kim Kienapple
Dean of Education (Acting), Dr. Mary Jane Harkins
University Librarian, Ms. Tanja Harrison
Registrar, Mr. Paul Cantelo
Director of Teaching and Learning, Dr. Donovan Plumb
Associate Vice-President - Research, Dr. Gayle MacDonald
Associate Vice-President - Student Experience, Ms. Paula Barry

 Faculty Representatives (19)Term BeginsTerm Ends              
 Dr. Adriana Benzaquén
July 1, 2017June 30, 2020
 Dr. Karen BlotnickyJuly 1, 2015June 30, 2018
 Ms. Paulette Cormier-MacBurnie
July 1, 2017June 30, 2020
 Dr. Robert FarmerJuly 1, 2015June 30, 2018
 Dr. Tammy Findlay
July 1, 2017
June 30, 2020
 Ms. Judy Fraser ArsenaultJuly 8, 2015June 30, 2018
 Dr. Tina Harriott
July 1, 2017
June 30, 2020
 Dr. Jeff MacLeod
July 1, 2017June 30, 2020
 Dr. Michael MacMillan
July 1, 2017June 30, 2020
 Dr. Scott MacMillan
January 1, 2017
June 30, 2019
 Dr. Chérif Matta
July 1, 2017June 30, 2020
 Dr. Melissa McGonnell
July 1, 2017
June 30, 2020
 Mr. Stan Orlov
July 1, 2017June 30, 2020
 Dr. James SawlerJuly 1, 2015June 30, 2018
 Dr. Cornelia Schneider
January 1, 2018
June 30, 2020
 Dr. Suzanne Seager
July 1, 2017
June 30, 2020
 Dr. Jim Sharpe
March 23, 2017
June 30, 2020
 Dr. Don Shiner
July 1, 2017June 30, 2020
 Dr. Rhoda Zuk
July 1, 2017June 30, 2020
 Dr. Michelle ForrestJanuary 1, 2016December 31, 2017

Note:    Italics denote terms which do not include the entire academic year.

Student Representatives (May 1, 2017 - April 30, 2018)
President of Students' Union – Mr. Alexander Cuming
Vice-President Advocacy  –  Ms. Nikki Jamieson
Education Representative – Ms. Haya Hafez (January - April)
Professional Studies Representative – Ms. Steph MacIntosh
Graduate Student Representative – Ms. Pamela Lovelace
(January - April)
Arts & Science Representative – Ms. Lori Marshall
(January - April)

Secretary of Senate Term BeginsTerm Ends                                 
Prof. Paula CrouseJanuary 1, 2016June 30, 2018


Revised:  January 29, 2018