#### **MINUTES**

Present: M. Bluechardt (Chair), P. Barry Mercer, K. Blotnicky, P. Cantelo, P. Cormier-MacBurnie, P. Crouse, R. Farmer, T. Findlay, J. Fraser-Arsenault, M. J. Harkins, T. Harriott, T. Harrison, N. Jamieson, B. Jessop, K. Kienapple, G. MacDonald, J. MacLeod, M. MacMillan, S. MacMillan, C. Matta, M. McGonnell, M. Mitchell, D. Plumb, J. Sawler, S. Seager, J. Sharpe, D. Shiner, B. Taylor

Regrets: A. Benzaquén, E. Church, S. MacIntosh, S. Orlov, C. Schneider, J. Wallace, R. Zuk

The meeting was called to order at 2:02 p.m. Observers in attendance were asked to self-identify for the record; there were no observers present. New student representatives, N. Jamieson—Students' Union President, M. Mitchell—VP Advocacy, S. MacIntosh—Professional Studies representative (returning), and J. Wallace—Arts/Science representative, were acknowledged/welcomed to Senate.

## 1. Indigenous Land Recognition

M. Bluechardt provided an acknowledgement that the Mount is built on traditional Mi'kmaq territory and paid respect to the Indigenous peoples of the land on which Senate meets.

### 2. Approval of Agenda

**Moved** by K. Blotnicky, seconded by B. Jessop, that the agenda be approved as circulated. CARRIED

## 3. Approval of Minutes of April 27, 2018

**Moved** by K. Blotnicky, seconded by T. Harrison, to approve the meeting minutes of April 27, 2018, as amended. CARRIED

### 4. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising.

#### 5. President's Announcements

M. Bluechardt encouraged Senators to complete the annual evaluation of Senate that will be sent to them in the near future; results of the evaluation will be presented to Senate in the fall. Senators were reminded that they are welcome to meet with her at any time if they prefer to participate in the evaluation this way.

Faculty and staff were thanked for their attendance at, and work on, Spring Convocation events. An overview was provided on the Honorary Degree Recipients, the attendance of the Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia (and his wife, Her Honour Patsy

LeBlanc) at the Chancellor's Dinner, and the presentation by student athlete, Kelsey Clorey, on the success of the Shoebox project.

Senators were encouraged to drop into the Aboriginal Student Centre to see the new garden; J. Sharpe provided a brief update on progress related to the project. As well, Senators were encouraged to attend the Town Hall meeting scheduled for May 30.

Finally, M. Bluechardt advised Senators of her invitation from Universities Canada to participate on the International Committee for a two-year term.

### 6. Question Period

No questions/comments arose.

# 7. Committee Reports (Standing and Ad Hoc)

- 7.1. Senate Executive
  - 7.1.1. Announcement of Senate Master Graduation List approval M. Bluechardt reported that Senate Executive did meet to approve the Convocation Master list; 583 students were approved and 36 were on the enabling list. The actual number of graduating students was 608.

## 7.2. Graduate Studies Program and Policy

- 7.2.1. Applied Human Nutrition
  - 7.2.1.1. Change to Admission Requirements: MSc AHN and MAHN Moved K. Kienapple, seconded by P. Cantelo, that Senate approve the change to admission requirements for MSc AHN and MAHN. CARRIED
- 7.3. Undergraduate Curriculum
  - 7.3.1. Changes to Existing Course
    - 7.3.1.1. Business and Tourism
      - 7.3.1.1.1 New Course Name and Description for BUSI/THMT 2202

B. Taylor advised that changes made to BUSI/THMT 2202 are presented to Senate for information; there were no questions or comments.

### 7.4. Nominations

- 7.4.1. Report on Elections by Faculty Complement
  M. McGonnell provided an update on faculty elections, committees with
  current vacancies and the process underway way to fill these positions.
- 7.4.2. Nominations for Senate-Elected Committees
  M. McGonnell directed Senators to two memos (dated May 11, 2018, within the Senate meeting materials and May 23, 2018, circulated at the meeting) outlining nominations for Senate-elected committee vacancies

and advised of the need for a motion to accept the late slate of nominations.

**Moved** by M. McGonnell, seconded by G. MacDonald, that, in accordance with Senate Bylaw 11.2.5, Senate accept the slate of late nominations. CARRIED

In accordance with Senate By-law 11.2.4, M. McGonnell called for further nominations from the floor; there were none.

**Moved** by M. McGonnell, seconded by K. Blotnicky, that Senate ratify the names of nominees identified by the Senate Nominations Committee in the memos dated May 11 and May 23. CARRIED

Committee	Nominee	Term Begins	Term Ends
Secretary of	Prof. Paula Crouse	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Senate			
Senate Executive	Dr. Tina Harriott	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Academic Appeals	Dr. Candace Blayney	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
	(alternate member)		
	Dr. Ardra Cole	1 January 2019	30 June 2021
	(alternate member)		
	Dr. Nargess Kayhani	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
	(regular member)		
	Dr. Valda Leighteizer	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
	(regular member)		
Grad. Studies Program & Policy	Dr. Meredith Ralston	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
	Dr. Will Shead	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
	Dr. Donna Varga	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Undergraduate	Dr. Ron MacKay	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Curriculum			
Information Tech.	Dr. Kelly Resmer	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
& Services			
Senate Library	Dr. Sal Badali	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Committee	Dr. Derek Fisher	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
	Dr. Sara King	1 January 2019	30 June 2021
	Prof. Michael Whalen	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Research and	Dr. Derek Fisher	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Publications	Dr. Deborah Norris	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
	Dr. Jonathan Roberts	1 January 2019	30 June 2021
	Dr. Larry Steele	1 January 2019	30 June 2021
Student	Dr. Ashwani Kumar	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Experience	Dr. Tess Laidlaw	1 January 2019	30 June 2021
Committee			
Teaching &	Dr. Peter	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Learning	Mombourquette		
Committee	Dr. Deborah Norris	1 January 2019	30 June 2021

Committee	Nominee	Term Begins	Term Ends
Writing Initiatives Committee	Dr. Amélie Lemieux	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Undergraduate Admissions,	Dr. Tess Laidlaw	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
	Dr. Valda Leighteizer	1 January 2019	30 June 2021
Scholarships and Awards	Prof. Michael Whalen	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Graduate Scholarships,	Dr. Kyly Whitfield	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Assistantships and Awards			
University Research Ethics Board	Dr. Ardra Cole	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
	Dr. Christine Lackner	1 January 2019	30 June 2021
	Dr. Ian Pottie	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
	Dr. Dan Seguin	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Student Judicial Committee	Dr. Jennifer Brady (regular member)	1 July 2018	30 June 2021
Advisory Committee for Chair in Learning Disabilities	Dr. Michelle Forrest	1 January 2019	30 June 2021

# 8. Other Reports

## 8.1. Students' Union

N. Jamieson spoke of the first transition month within Students' Union and outlined newly elected Students' Union positions and those that will be elected in the fall.

### 9. New Business

There was no new business to discuss.

## 10. Items for Communication

### Senate approved:

- Minutes of the April 27, 2018, meeting
- Change to admission requirements for MSc AHN and MAHN
- A slate of nominees for standing committees of Senate and other committees

#### Senate received for information:

- New course name and description for a BUSI/THMT course
- A report of the results of elections by the Faculty Complement

# 11. Adjournment

M. Bluechardt thanked Senate members K. Blotnicky, R. Farmer, J. Fraser-Arsenault, M. MacMillan, S. MacMillan, J. Sawler, and C. Schneider whose terms are ending.

Appreciation was expressed to K. Blotnicky for her role over the past years as Parliamentarian and to M. J. Harkins for serving on Senate in the capacity of Dean of Education.

Moved by J. MacLeod, seconded by S. Seager, that the meeting be adjourned. CARRIED

The meeting was adjourned at 2:18 p.m.