

At the Board meeting

Thursday, April 25, 2019

Via the Consent Agenda:

- The Consent and Meeting agendas were approved.
- ↓ The minutes from the February 28, 2019, Board meeting were approved.
- 4 An overview of decisions made at the last Senate meeting was received for information.
- The compliance report on the university's compliance with public disclosure (FOIPOP Freedom of Information/Protection of Privacy) requirements was received.
- **4** Received Committee reports from committees via the Consent Agenda:
 - o Audit Committee
 - Campus Planning Committee
 - o Finance Committee
- The President's written Report to the Board, an update on activities and initiatives on Campus aligned with the goals and strategies of the Mount's strategic plan, Mount 2017, was received.

Via Regular Meeting Agenda:

- An Indigenous Land Recognition Statement was read, recognizing that the Mount is built on unceded Mi'kmaq territory and paying respect to Elders, past, present and future.
- The Consent and Meeting agendas were approved
- The Board Chair provided an update on activities and events, and on the President's evaluation process.
- Committee Reports were received from:
 - Finance Committee
 - The 2019-20209 Operating Budget and 2019-2020 Capital Budget were approved and Board members were given an update on the virtual business plan.
 - The Nominating Committee
 - A proposed Acknowledgement and Acknowledgement document, to be used for sourcing and vetting Board Candidates was reviewed; it will be presented to the Board at its next meeting for discussion and approval.
 - The Board approved a list of volunteers who currently participate as external members of Board committees.
 - The Board approved the appointment of Laurel Broten, Tyrone Cotie, Danielle Desjardins, Chris Ronald, Paul McIsaac, and Glenn Squires be appointed to the Board of Governors for a three year renewable term beginning July 1, 2019 and ending June 30, 2022.

- The President provided an environmental scan on the external environment and an update on government relations initiatives.
- 4 Constituency reports were received from the Faculty, Students and Alumnae groups
- Student representatives, R. Charlton, T. Morash, and E. Murray, were thanked for their dedication and commitment to the Board of Governors.
- During an in camera session, the status of President Emerita was granted on Dr.
 Ramona Lumpkin, the appointment of Dr. Julie A. McMullin as Vice-President Academic and
 Provost, was approved, and an update on collective bargaining with the NSGEU was received.