NOTE: Banner images should be placed in this first content block and should be at least 720px wide.

Canadian Association of Foodservice Professionals Student Branch

Canadian Association of Foodservice Professionals (CAFP) is a national association of individuals who are managers, suppliers, educators and leaders in the foodservice and hospitality industry. The main objectives are networking, education and promotion of the industry. This includes encouraging young people seeking careers in the foodservice and hospitality industry through sponsorship of Student Branches at colleges and universities offering programs in nutrition, foodservice or hospitality management.

Students in the Applied Human Nutrition, with sponsorship from the Halifax/Dartmouth and the Northumberland Senior CAFP Branches, formed a CAFP Student Branch in 1997. Students hold regular meetings with both social and educational aspects. Please see the bulletin board in the Department of AHN for events or contact them. Students can also attend the Senior Branch CAFP meetings. This association has lead to many internship and career opportunities for students over the years.

CAFP also provides thousands of dollars in bursaries and awards to Student Branch members. Information about these awards and how to apply can be found on the CAFP website ( This web site also includes a listing of the past winners of awards, including successful MSVU students!

CAFP Mission Statement

To promote professional and personal development, and facilitate communication leading to excellence in our industry.

CAFP Vision Statement

We are a national association of diverse professionals united by our dedication to lifelong learning.
We are committed to providing our members with opportunities for fellowship, recognition and personal growth.

Our activities focus on networking and education, offering benefit to individual senior and student members, and ultimately all foodservice industry stakeholders.

CAFP Executives:


 Position Name Email
 President Sandra Fraser

 Vice President Heather Anderson

 Communications Chair Rachel Hilts

 Education Chair Alina Chen

 Volunteer Chair Alyssa Teed

 Fundraising Chair Yingying Xu

 Treasurer Nathalie Paris

 Social Chair Julia Short

 Secretary Alyssa Millar

 Professional Development Chair Elizabeth Manderson

 Newsletter Chair (2 positions)Huanyue Wang &
Sumi Iqbal

CAFP Newsletter