NOTE: Banner images should be placed in this first content block and should be at least 720px wide.

Conf header

Join us on April 6!

Celebrate Psychology at the Mount!

29th conference program cover

Join us to recognize and celebrate the hard work of our Honours, Advanced

 Research Methods, andDirected Study students. Our annual Student Research Conference showcases their work through poster presentations and oral thesis presentations. 

The day will kick off with a keynote presentation by Heather Patterson (Psy.D.), who currently works with counseling services at Dalhousie University. Heather graduated from our Honours program in 2006. After that, we will have a variety of research poster and honours thesis presentations, and end the day with student awards and an informal reception.

If you would like more information, please send Marisa an email at You can also read about some of our students' research projects here

Student Awards

An important part of our Conference is the presentation of student awards for outstanding performance, both in and out of the classroom.

 Brenda Milner Award*

Given by the Department of Psychology to an honours student for outstanding performance in the presentation of their thesis at the Annual In-House Psychology Conference.

*Award discontinued in 2011

 Past recipients
 Fred Harrington Award*

Given by the Department of Psychology to a second-year student who has continued in the psychology program and who showed superior performance in Introductory Psychology

*From 1992-2009, was known as the Donald O. Hebb Award

 Past recipients
Rosemarie Sampson Award

Given by the Department of Psychology to a graduating honours student in psychology who intends to pursue graduate studies, in recognition of academic achievement, excellence in research, and potential for contribution to the discipline of psychology

Past recipients 
Book Award for Research Excellence*

Given by the Department of Psychology in recognition of superior performance in Advanced Research Methods in Psychology

*Previously known as the Rudy Kafer Award

 Past recipients
The Student Leadership Award in Psychology

 This award is given to a Psychology major who has demonstrated leadership and support of student and departmental initiatives 

Past recipients