NOTE: Banner images should be placed in this first content block and should be at least 720px wide.

The International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) has 119 member countries and operates through 20 permanent commissions. It holds a triennial Conference and General Assembly.  Upon the recommendation of the former members of the IUCr Commission on Charge, Spin and Momentum Densities, the General Assembly has approved the new membership of its commission. Cherif Matta have been voted in as a "Member" of the Commission on Quantum Crystallography for a term of three years (2017-2020).  See:


Researchers at Mount Saint Vincent and Dalhousie universities awarded $1.5 million to help advance Alzheimer’s disease research. Click here to read the story


Dr. Chérif F. Matta, Professor and Chair recently announced as the 2017 recipient of the Mount Saint Vincent University Research Excellence Award. Click here for the article.


Members of the Department of Chemistry and Physics attended the Science Atlantic/CIC CHEMCON 2017 conference at Memorial University from May 4-6, 2017. Guilherme Ferreira, an undergraduate student in the department involved in Alzheimer’s research, won the Best Overall Poster Presentation in the Biological/Medicinal Chemistry Division


First image of the electron density and its gradient in DNA. Our own Dr. Chérif Matta  discusses his research on national TV (Click here to watch the segment).


Dr. Chérif Mattanamed 2016-17 "Lady Davis Visiting Professor" - To read about this distinguished fellowship program at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem click here


Dr. KatherineDarveshwins the 2016 C3 Award in Chemical Education! To read more about this national award click here.


From the Research lab of MSVU’s Dr. Ian Pottie: Breakthrough in Alzheimer’s research.

(Click for the full story)