If you’ve never heard of Africville, you’re not alone; the tragic story of this small Black community in Nova Scotia is not as well known as it should be. It is part of a much larger story of Black settlers in Nova Scotia, which goes back hundreds of years.
Black people have lived in Nova Scotia since before the founding of Halifax in 1749. However, it was only after the American Revolution, in the late 1700s and early 1800s, that large groups of Black settlers began to arrive in the province. Many of them were former enslaved people who had been promised freedom and land in Nova Scotia, but when they arrived, they encountered white settlers who viewed them as inferior.
Because of racism, Black settlers were pushed to the margins of society and forced to live on the most inhospitable land. Despite this, they persevered, developing strong, vibrant communities. Africville was one such place.
Africville was a primarily Black community located on the south shore of the Bedford Basin, on the outskirts of Halifax. The first records of a Black presence in Africville date back to 1848, and it continued to exist for 120 years after that. Over that time, hundreds of individuals and families lived there and built a thriving, close-knit community. There were stores, a school, a post office and the Seaview United Baptist Church, which was Africville’s spiritual and social centre.
In the 1960’s Africville was destroyed to make way fro industrial development. Black people living there were carted out in dump trucks as their homes were bulldozed. In 2010, the Municipality of Halifax apologized, and now a replica of Africville’s church celebrates the spirit and story of the community.
LEARN MORE HERE ->http://africvillemuseum.org/
Black Cultural Centre
Established in 1983, to Protect, Preserve and Promote the history and culture of African Nova Scotians. The Centre is a museum and cultural gathering place, where the rich history of Nova Scotians of African Descent can be discovered and explored.
LEARN MORE HERE ->http://web1.bccnsweb.com/
Nova Scotia Home For Coloured Children
The opening of the Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children in 1921 was described as “the greatest event in the history of the colored people of Nova Scotia” .
On June 6th, 1921, a 3/4 mile parade of dignitaries and a crowd of 3000 spectators heralded the opening of the Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children. This was the largest gathering of Blacks since the arrival of the Loyalists to the Province in 1783.
From the onset, it was the leadership and dedication of Mr. James A. Ross Kinney, Manager and Secretary Treasurer and Mr. Henry G. Bauld, President, which sustained the Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children for the first 21 years of its early existence.
After ten years of operating, the Board of Directors was forced to launch its first Annual Broadcast for Funds in 1931. A positive response from the government, African United Baptist Association (AUBA) churches, local residents and other community wide supporters met this challenge. The transition from radio to television lives on today in the form of a Christmas telethon, on EastLink Television.
Although the dream of an educational institute for Black students by Lawyer James R. Johnston, never materialized, the on-site Henry G. Bauld Elementary School filled this void. This two-room school house offered such studies as K-9, industrial arts and domestic science to residents and neighbouring students alike. The school played a major role in the lives of teachers of segregated schools throughout the province, many of whom taught their first classes at this location.
LEARN MORE HERE ->http://www.akoma.ca/history