Home » Community » Co-Curricular Recognition Program (CCRP) » Potential Volunteer Organizations

Potential Volunteer Organizations

Students-Int'l

Finding Volunteer Opportunities

Many non-profit organizations rely on volunteer (unpaid) workers to provide services to their clients and to ensure the smooth operation of the organization. When you volunteer, you are not only providing assistance to others in the community, you are developing valuable transferable skills and building your professional network. Volunteering is also a great way to determine what type of work you like to do, and what issues are important to you.

If you're unsure how to start volunteering, try this quiz at Getinvolved.ca to discover what type of volunteering might suit you best. Getinvolved.ca also offers volunteer matching for positions in Halifax and across Canada, and the site hosts plenty of resources to help you start volunteering.

Volunteer positions are also listed as part of the Mount's main job postings page.

FUSION Halifax is a networking organization for young Haligonians 20-40 years of age. Their website provides listings of current volunteer opportunities in Halifax. These positions are typically similar to traditional jobs (social medial management, fundraising coordination, etc.) and provide excellent skill development for your resume. The city of Halifax also provides volunteering information and listings. You can also contact the organizations listed below to investigate potential volunteer opportunities.

A new method of volunteering has recently emerged - virtual volunteering, or performing volunteer tasks such as writing proposals, creating graphic design, and blogging from anywhere via the Internet. 

Read this article for more information about virtual volunteering and how to get started.

Not sure where you should volunteer in the HRM? Drop by Career Planning Services to consult our list of organizations in HRM who you can contact!

Once you've found the volunteer role that's right for you, remember to update your Co-Curricular Record to record your participation!

Volunteer organizations that have offered positions in the past

 

Community Support Services

Abilities Foundation of Nova Scotia -www.abilitiesfoundation.ns.ca
Best Buddies Canada - www.bestbuddies.ca
Elizabeth Fry Society of Mainland Nova Scotia - www.efrynovascotia.com
Feed Nova Scotia - www.feednovascotia.ca
Halifax Meals on Wheels - hfxmealsonwheels@ns.sympatico.ca
Halifax Regional Development Agency - www.greaterhalifax.com
Halifax Regional Police - www.halifax.ca/police
Legal Information Society of Canada - www.legalinfo.org
Metro Resource Centre for Independent Living - www.ilns.ca
Salvation Army - www.salvationarmy.ca
SPCA - www.metro.spcans.ca
Spencer House Seniors’ Centre - www.spencerhouse.ca
St. John Ambulance - www.sja.ca
Therapy Dog Program - www.sja.ca/NSPEI/                                                                                                             United Way - www.unitedway.ca

Family Support Services

Adsum House - www.adsumforwomen.org
Alice Housing - www.alicehousing.ca
Birthright - www.birthright.org
Bryony House - www.bryonyhouse.ca
Children’s Aid Society of Halifax - www.hrcaf.org
Family SOS (Services of Support) - www.familysos.ca
Operation Come Home- www.operationcomehome.ca
Military Family Resource Centre - www.halifaxmfrc.ca
Veith House - www.veithhouse.ns.ca

Health & Wellness

AIDS Coalition of Nova Scotia - www.acns.ns.ca
Alzheimer Society - www.alzheimer.ca/en/ns                                                                                                            Arthritis Society - www.arthritis.ca/NS                                                                                                                         Canadian Cancer Society - www.cancer.ca
Canadian Cerebral Palsy Support Foundation - www.cpsc.ca
Canadian Diabetes Association - www.diabetes.ca
Canadian Liver Foundation - www.liver.ca
Canadian Paraplegic Association - www.canparaplegic.org
Capital Health - www.cdha.nshealth.ca
CNIB Vision Health - www.cnib.ca
Continuing Care Assistant Program - www.nsaho.ns.ca/CCA
Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada - www.heartandstroke.ns.ca
IWK Health Centre - www.iwk.nshealth.ca
Kidney Foundation of Canada - www.kidney.ca
Lung Association Nova Scotia - www.ns.lung.ca
Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada - http://mssociety.ca/
Muscular Dystrophy Association of Canada - www.muscle.ca
Northwood Home Care - www.nwood.ns.ca
Psoriasis Society of Canada - www.psoriasissociety.org
QEII Foundation - www.qe2foundation.com
Schizophrenia Society of Nova Scotia - www.ssns.ca                                                                                             Society of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Nova Scotians - www.sdhhns.org
Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Association of Nova Scotia - www.sbhans.ca
VON Greater Halifax - www.von.ca

Literacy & Education

APSEA (Atlantic Provinces Special Education Authority) - www.apsea.ca
Atlantic Science Links Association - http://atlanticsciencelinks.dal.ca/
Frontier College - www.frontiercollege.ca
Halifax Public Libraries - www.halifaxpubliclibraries.ca
Learning Disabilities Association of Nova Scotia - www.ldans.ca
Progress Centre for Early Intervention - www.progresscentre.com

Children & Youth

Big Brothers Big Sisters - www.callbigbrothers.ca
Caledonia Boys and Girls Club - www.bgccan.com
Children’s International Summer Villages - www.cisv.org
Girl Guides of Canada - www.girlguides.ca
Phoenix Youth Programs - www.phoenixyouth.ca
Scouts Canada - www.scouts.ca
YMCA - www.ymcahrm.ns.ca
Young Women’s Christian Association (Halifax) - www.ywcahalifax.com

International Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)

Atlantic Council for International Cooperation - www.acic-caci.org
Canada World Youth - www.canadaworldyouth.org
Canadian Red Cross Society - www.redcross.ca
CUSO - www.cuso-vso.org
Katimavik - www.gokatimavik.com
Nova Scotia Gambia Association - www.novascotiagambia.ca
Oxfam Canada - www.oxfam.ca
UNICEF - www.unicef.ca
United Nations Volunteers - www.unv.org
VSO Canada - www.vsocan.org
Youth Challenge International - www.yci.org

Galleries & Museums

Art Gallery Nova Scotia - www.artgalleryofnovascotia.ca
Discovery Centre - www.discoverycentre.ns.ca
Memory Lane Family Place - www.memorylanefamilyplace.com
Nova Scotia Museum  - http://museum.gov.ns.ca/
Pier 21 - www.pier21.ca

Heritage & Immigration

African Diaspora Association of the Maritimes - adamns.ca                                                                                 Immigration Settlement & Integration Services (ISIS) - www.isisns.ca
Metropolitan Immigrant Settlement Association - www.misa.ns.ca
Multicultural Association of Nova Scotia - www.mans.ns.ca

Environment

Clean Nova Scotia - www.clean.ns.ca                                                                                                                   Young Naturalists Club of Nova Scotia - http://nature1st.net/ync/

Professional Development

Junior Achievement - www.janovascotia.org
Skills Canada (Nova Scotia) - http://skillsns.ednet.ns.ca/
Successfully Speaking – Women’s Toastmaster’s Club - http://newsite.searshalifaxtm.ca/
Women’s Employment Outreach - http://womensemploymentoutreach.org

On-Campus Organizations

MSVU Students’ Union Diversity Centre

MSVU Students’ Union Food Resource Centre

Nova Scotia Centre on Aging

 

 

 

 

 ©2013 MSVU

Web Design & CMS by ISL Web Marketing & Development