NOTE: Banner images should be placed in this first content block and should be at least 720px wide.

Students-Int'l


List of Organizations with Volunteer Opportunities


Children, Youth, and Family

Chalice- http://chalice.ca/

Women in Science and Engineering Atlantic- www.WISEatlantic.ca

Health and Wellness

The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of Canada- http://lightthenight.ca/walks/halifax/

Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation CIBC Run for the Cure- http://cibcrunforthecure.supportcbcf.com/

Canadian Diabetes Association- https://www.diabetes.ca/

Athletics and Recreation- www.msvu.ca/athleticsrecreation

Hepatitis Outreach Society of NS- http://www.hepns.ca/

Breast Cancer Action NS- http://bcans.ca/bcans_dev/%20

The Arthritis Society- http://www.arthritis.ca/ns

Canadian Cancer Society- http://www.cancer.ca/en/?region=ns

CNIB- http://www.cnib.ca/en/Pages/default.aspx

Literacy

Frontier College- http://www.frontiercollege.ca/

Chebucto Connections' Pathways to Education- http://chebuctoconnections.ca/

Culture

Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21- http://www.pier21.ca/home/

Volunteer Eco Students Abroad-  http://www.vesabroad.com/ 

MSVU International Education Centre- msvu.ca/internationaleducation

Community Support

Immigrant Services Association of NS- http://www.isans.ca/

Community Volunteer Income Tax Program (CRA)- http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/menu-eng.html

Saint Vincent's Nursing Home- http://www.svnh.ca/

Feed Nova Scotia- http://www.feednovascotia.ca/

Easter Seals Nova Scotia- http://www.easterseals.ns.ca/

Bide Awhile Animal Shelter- http://www.bideawhile.org/

Eastlink TV- http://www.eastlink.ca/

Environment

Ecology Action Centre- https://www.ecologyaction.ca/

Community Support Services

Abilities Foundation of Nova Scotia -www.abilitiesfoundation.ns.ca
Best Buddies Canada - www.bestbuddies.ca
Feed Nova Scotia - www.feednovascotia.ca
Halifax Meals on Wheels - http://www.halifaxmealsonwheels.ca/    
Halifax Regional Development Agency - www.greaterhalifax.com
Halifax Regional Police - www.halifax.ca/police
Legal Information Society of Canada - www.legalinfo.org
Metro Resource Centre for Independent Living - www.ilns.ca
Salvation Army - www.salvationarmy.ca
Spencer House Seniors’ Centre - www.spencerhouse.ca
St. John Ambulance - www.sja.ca
United Way - www.unitedway.ca

Family Support Services

Adsum House - www.adsumforwomen.org
Alice Housing - www.alicehousing.ca
Birthright - www.birthright.org
Bryony House - www.bryonyhouse.ca
Children’s Aid Society of Halifax - www.hrcaf.org
Family SOS (Services of Support) - www.familysos.ca
Operation Come Home- www.operationcomehome.ca
Military Family Resource Centre - www.halifaxmfrc.ca
Veith House - www.veithhouse.ns.ca

Health & Wellness

AIDS Coalition of Nova Scotia - www.acns.ns.ca
Alzheimer Society - www.alzheimer.ca/en/ns                                                                                                  Arthritis Society -www.arthritis.ca/NS                                                                                                             

Canadian Cancer Society - www.cancer.ca
Canadian Cerebral Palsy Support Foundation - www.cpsc.ca
Canadian Diabetes Association - www.diabetes.ca
Canadian Liver Foundation - www.liver.ca
Capital Health - www.cdha.nshealth.ca
CNIB Vision Health - www.cnib.ca
Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada - www.heartandstroke.ns.ca
IWK Health Centre - www.iwk.nshealth.ca
Kidney Foundation of Canada - www.kidney.ca
Lung Association Nova Scotia - www.ns.lung.ca
Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada - http://mssociety.ca/
Muscular Dystrophy Association of Canada - www.muscle.ca
Northwood Home Care - www.nwood.ns.ca
Psoriasis Society of Canada - www.psoriasissociety.org
QEII Foundation - www.qe2foundation.com
Schizophrenia Society of Nova Scotia - www.ssns.ca                                                                                    Society of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Nova Scotians - www.sdhhns.org

VON Greater Halifax - www.von.ca

Literacy & Education

APSEA (Atlantic Provinces Special Education Authority) - www.apsea.ca
Atlantic Science Links Association - http://atlanticsciencelinks.dal.ca/
Frontier College - www.frontiercollege.ca
Halifax Public Libraries - www.halifaxpubliclibraries.ca
Learning Disabilities Association of Nova Scotia - www.ldans.ca
Progress Centre for Early Intervention - www.progresscentre.com

Children & Youth

Big Brothers Big Sisters - www.callbigbrothers.ca
Caledonia Boys and Girls Club - www.bgccan.com
Children’s International Summer Villages - www.cisv.org
Girl Guides of Canada - www.girlguides.ca
Phoenix Youth Programs - www.phoenixyouth.ca
Scouts Canada - www.scouts.ca
YMCA - www.ymcahrm.ns.ca
Young Women’s Christian Association (Halifax) - www.ywcahalifax.com

International Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)

Atlantic Council for International Cooperation - www.acic-caci.org
Canada World Youth - www.canadaworldyouth.org
Canadian Red Cross Society - www.redcross.ca
Nova Scotia Gambia Association - www.novascotiagambia.ca
Oxfam Canada - www.oxfam.ca
UNICEF - www.unicef.ca
United Nations Volunteers - www.unv.org
VSO Canada - www.vsocan.org
Youth Challenge International - www.yci.org

Galleries & Museums

Art Gallery Nova Scotia - www.artgalleryofnovascotia.ca
Discovery Centre - www.discoverycentre.ns.ca
Memory Lane Family Place - www.memorylanefamilyplace.com
Nova Scotia Museum  - http://museum.gov.ns.ca/
Pier 21 - www.pier21.ca

Heritage & Immigration

African Diaspora Association of the Maritimes - adamns.ca  

Immigration Settlement & Integration Services (ISIS) - www.isans.ca

Metropolitan Immigrant Settlement Association - www.misa.ns.ca

Multicultural Association of Nova Scotia - www.mans.ns.ca

Environment

Clean Nova Scotia - www.clean.ns.ca   

Young Naturalists Club of Nova Scotia - http://nature1st.net/ync/

Professional Development

Junior Achievement - www.janovascotia.org
Skills Canada (Nova Scotia) - http://skillsns.ednet.ns.ca/
Women’s Employment Outreach - http://womensemploymentoutreach.org

On-Campus Organizations

MSVU Students’ Union Diversity Centre

MSVU Students’ Union Food Resource Centre

Nova Scotia Centre on Aging